Plateau State athlete, Patience Mwanwang  Dalyop has emerged the winner of the fifth edition of the Lagos Women Run 2020, tagged ‘Run Anywhere, Everywhere.’

Dalyop, breasted the tape at 33 minutes 43.73 seconds to win the Elite Open category.

Awawu Haruna finished second place at a time of 34 minutes 02. 24 seconds.

Abiye David finished third place at a time 34 minutes 16.39 seconds.

Dalyop got a record cash prize of N1, 000,000 for the special virtual edition of the Women Run, while second place Awawu Haruna got N500, 000. Third place Abiye David got N300, 000 for her efforts.

Winners in the Elite Open category were presented their cash prizes by the Commissioner for Sports, Lagos State, Segun Dawodu.

In the Veteran category, Lagos State athlete, Anna Seriki, emerged the winner after crossing the finish line at 45 minutes 47.11 seconds. In second place was Plateau state athlete Ladi Henry, she ran 46 minutes 16.90 seconds. While Kareem Bolanle finished third place at 46 minutes 40.74 seconds.

Seriki, Ladi and Kareem got N300, 000, N200, 000 and N100, 000 respectively.

The presentation of cash prizes to each the Veteran category winners were done by the Chairman, Lagos State Sports Commission, Sola Aiyepeku.

For the 2020 edition of the Lagos Women Run, all the Covid-19 protocols approved by the Lagos Government were followed strictly.

All the athletes were given two disposable face masks at the start point which was at the Tafawa Balewa Square. The organisers also created cells of six athletes each on a single row; this created the much desired social distance before the race was flagged off.

At the end of the presentation ceremony all the athletes that finished the race were given certificate and medals.

Leave a Reply